Magnolia Plantation and Gardens

I’ve lived here over nine months and still had not made it out to Boone Hall Plantation.  There are a lot of events held there, but I really wanted to devote a day to just exploring the grounds.  When I made a new Australian friend at the local laundromat (yes, I am very random) and heard she wanted to head out to the plantation in Mount Pleasant, I decided to tag along.  Best decision.

IMG_7916

IMG_7931

Though the house was quite small for the plantations I’m used to, the grounds were just stunning.  Overall, it was a great bang for you buck, too.  You pay $20 to get into the grounds.  However, you can take up to four different tours and wander the grounds til you drop.  The guided tours include a house tour, a slave street history tour, a bus tour of the grounds, and a gullah culture tour.

The Gullah culture tour was truly fascinating.  Gullah is the term for the descendants of the slaves from the Lowcountry.  An old man sang Gullah songs for us and recounted the history and customs of the Gullah people.  I want to be his friend.

IMG_7934

Here are some other pictures of the grounds.

IMG_7927

IMG_7930

 

IMG_7917

I would go so far as to say this is a must-do on your visit to Charleston.  Downtown is awesome, obviously, but you should get away to the quieter parts of the area and to learn about the history of this home.  Also, for your pop culture enthusiasts, parts of The Notebook were filmed here, and this plantation is where Blake Lively and Ryan Reynolds were married.

 

2 thoughts on “Magnolia Plantation and Gardens

  1. Do they have a taste of Charleston there? I think that’s where the event was?? Also, I used to go to a laundromat where they washed and folded your clothes for you and wrapped them up all neat and tight. It was drop off. I’m sure you knew about those, but it was great! Somewhere DT off Calhoun.

    • Yeah they have Charleston food events there – Southern Living’s Taste of Charleston, another big one called Charleston Wine & Food Festival and another one by Garden & Gun. But they always have a steep entry fee that doesn’t include anything. I’m spoiled by free Louisiana food festivals!!
      Ha that’s the same laundromat where I made this friend!! It also has a really awesome lunch spot inside it now called Persimmon Cafe. So I ate tomato basil soup while my clothes dried. 🙂

Leave a comment