Mom’s Chicken and Andouille Gumbo

I’m sure everyone thinks theyyy momma makes the best gumbo, but I assure you, my momma does.  This is my all-time, number one comfort dish.  When I’ve been away from home too long or if I’m feeling sickly, this is all I want to eat.  On my last trip home, I ate this three nights.

Gumbo should never be rushed.  It is something you should devote a whole day to (Sunday, IMO).  That is why this recipe makes so much gumbo – you don’t want to make this every time you want gumbo.  Gumbo freezes wonderfully.

I like to give myself two days to make gumbo b/c I don’t like to work at it all day!  On Day 1, I do all the chopping work and I cook my chicken and make my broth.  This also makes it easier to scrape the grease of your broth after refrigerating it overnight.  Then on Day 2, all you have to do is make a roux and let things simmer for a few hours!

This time making it, I served it at my Mardi Gras party.  As is custom, I served it with amazing potato salad (recipe to follow) – it is up to you whether you want to stir it in your gumbo like some Louisianians do or keep it on the side.  I compromise and eat it on the side, but lightly dip each spoonful in my gumbo.

Don’t judge the obvious fact that this sausage is NOT andouille – I’m in Charleston, people!!  I could have gone searching for some, but I was super rushed.  Also, I know these coo-yons wouldn’t know the difference. 🙂

Chicken and Andouille Gumbo

  • 2 large chickens, each around 5.5 pounds, cleaned – I buy the already cut up ones
  • 1 pound of smoked sausage, sliced
  • 1 pound of andouille, sliced – if you don’t have this in your area, just double your smoked sausage
  • 1 large green bell pepper, chopped – and save the end part you normally throw out
  • 4 stalks celery, chopped – and save the end parts you normally throw out
  • 2 medium to large onions, chopped – and save the ends and skin parts you normally throw out
  • 1/2 bunch of parsley, chopped – and save the stem part you normally throw out
  • 1 bunch of green onions, chopped
  • 4 large garlic cloves, chopped
  • Lawry’s seasoned salt, cayenne pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
  • 2 cups of flour

Step 1: make your broth and cook your chicken

Wash all of the saved parts of the veggies (normally thrown away) until clean.  These veggies are gonna help make your stock more flavorful.  Put 2 quarts of water in a large (seriously, large) stockpot.  Add the garbage veggies (extras), 1 tbsp Lawry’s seasoned , 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, and chicken to the pot.  Cover and bring to a boil.  Then, lower your heat, but keep at a gentle boil, for about 1 hour until the chicken is cooked.

Remove the chicken and then strain your broth. (In other words, you are keeping the brothy part – a little over 2 quarts – and throwing away the garbage veggies.)  Put your broth in the refrigerator and refrigerate your broth overnight if you can.  If you can’t, skim the fat off the top of your broth as best you can.

Debone and chop up all your chicken.  Put in a gallon zipper and refrigerate.

Step 2:  Make that roux and let it get yummy

If you have refrigerated your broth overnight, the fat has congealed to the top – remove that fat.

IMG_6941

Using your LARGE pot, heat your oil over medium heat.  Add 2 cups of flour and whisk until a dark caramel.  Whisk constantly.  This is the making of your roux.  Don’t rush it.  Don’t burn it. Not stirring or whisking constantly will cause the flour to burn and your roux is ruined.  Here is the coloring you’ll see happen with your roux.

IMG_6934IMG_6937

After your roux turns a dark caramel, add your chopped onions.  This will caramelize and release sugars and darken your roux.  After 5-10 minutes, add bell pepper, celery, and garlic.  Saute 10-15 minutes, stirring constantly.

IMG_6942

Add reserved broth, 1 Tbsp salt, 1/2 tsp cayenne.  Keep at a low boil and keep covered.  Stir often.  After 45 mins to 1 hour, add sliced sausage and andouille and 4 cups of water.  Cook another hour.  Skim fat off the top layer.

IMG_6945

Add chopped green onion and parsley, chopped chicken, and 2 cups water. Cook another 1/2 hour.  Add additional water according to desired consistency (usually around 1 cup).

IMG_6974

Serve it over fluffy white rice!!!

Image

(Yes, this is a pic from home with real andouille.)

One thought on “Mom’s Chicken and Andouille Gumbo

  1. Pingback: World’s Best Potato Salad | temple adventure

Leave a Reply

