Salsa Verde Burgers

My goal when cooking low-fat foods is that no one knows it is low-fat.  I simply do not come from a family where we enjoy munching on broccoli or kale.  Just make me think the food is bad for me, please!  Perfect example – these burgers I made this week from Skinny Taste – in my opinion, the best site for healthy recipes on the whole of the internet.

These are so easy to make – especially since I use jarred salsa (Mom, don’t shake your head at me).  You add no binding or sauce to your ground beef.  Just mold your patties, slightly season, and grill it up.  The addition of melty cheese, avocado, and salsa ensure that your low fat ground beef does not come off as dry.   I haven’t been able to get these burgers off my mind!

Salsa Verde Burgers – makes 4 burger, head on over to Skinny Taste for nutritional information

  • cooking spray
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 4 (93% lean) beef patties, 4.75 oz each
  • 1/2 cup salsa verde, homemade or store bought (I used Herdez brand, leftover from some enchiladas I previously made).  If you do use store-bought, add some fresh cilantro or chopped onion or jalapeño – something to make it taste less “out of a bottle.”
  • 4 slices Sargento reduced fat pepper jack cheese
  • 4 hamburger buns
  • cilantro, optional
  • sliced avocado (from 1 medium haas)

Form your patties and salt and pepper your beef.  Heat a skillet or grill over high heat. When hot, spray with oil and add the patties. Season with salt and pepper and cook a few minutes on each side, to your desired liking. I made fat and tall burgers since my buns were small, so they took a while to cook.  Add the cheese and cover. Cook to melt, about 30 seconds.

Meanwhile, toast your buns in a hot oven if you’re smart.  After, assemble your burgers by topping the beef and cheese with around 2 tablespoons of salsa verde, a sprinkle of fresh cilantro, and avocado slices.  We also generously added a Mexican hot sauce.  Enjoy!!! And if it’s two of you, anxiously await leftovers.

Image

Here’s a side view to really appreciate the melted curtain of cheese.

Image

Leave a Reply

