Grasshopper Pie

I used to love when Memaw would make Grasshopper Pie, a frozen mint pie perfect for the holidays – especially when it is 70 degree weather!!  It has an oreo crust and a frozen mint filling.  A lot of people just throw mint ice cream on oreo cookie crust, but the traditional grasshopper pie has a lighter filling.

Most recipes call for creme de menthe, but I made this on Sunday, when you can’t buy liquor in this state.  DUMB.  So, the recipe I used called for peppermint extract instead.  I was worried about this change, but it turned out delicious!! Just like I remembered.  Even my husband, who does not like sweets, said, while eating his first slice, “I’ll be having a second slice before bed.”  No other compliment needed.

Oh, also, did I mention — NO BAKING!

Grasshopper Pie – from Joy in My Kitchen

  • 2 c. crushed oreo cookies
  • 1/4 c. butter, melted
  • 8 oz. marshmallow fluff
  • 1/8 c. milk
  • 1/4 tsp. extract
  • Food coloring – I used the “recipe” on the box for mint green, which was a combo of green and yellow.
  • 1 c. whipping cream, whipped

Combine cookie crumbs and melted butter. Reserve 1/8 C for topping. Press into a 9-inch pie plate.

Combine fluff, milk, extract, and food coloring.  I used a whisk to break up the fluff well.  Fold in whipped cream.

Spread mixture into pie plate and top with reserved oreo crumbs.  Wrap in plastic wrap and freeze overnight or until frozen.

Image

2 thoughts on “Grasshopper Pie

Leave a Reply

