Ginger Snaps

This is a great cookie for all you weird, crispy cookie lovers!  I myself like soft gooey cookies.  🙂  But, I do admit, this is a great cookie for Christmastime.  Perfect with your coffee in the morning.  And I do love spiced cookies and spiced breads.  This one has ginger (obviously) and cinnamon.

I made these for the people at my work, and they just loved them.  This recipe is from Legacy, the awesome Thibodaux cookbook first published in 1982.  It is a staple in Thibodauxians’ kitchens.  A lot of what I consider my mom’s recipes are actually from Legacy, like this cookie.

Ginger Snaps – makes about 55

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 c. vegetable shortening (Crisco)
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1 egg, well beaten
  • 1/4 c. molasses
  • 2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 2 T. baking powder (make sure it is fresh)
  • 1 T. ground ginger
  • 1 1/2 t. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • Powdered sugar for topping

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Cream shortening and sugar until fluffy.

IMG_6289

Beat in egg and molasses.  Sift together dry ingredients and add slowly to creamed mixture and blend well.

IMG_6290

Roll into balls.  I like to use a little ice cream/melon scooper, so they are uniform in size.  Also, it makes forming the cookies easier.  Place on an ungreased cookie sheet, 2 inches apart.  Bake 12 to 15 minutes until tops are cracked and lightly browned, and the cookies have flattened.  (Check at 10 minute mark – again, I think I have an overly hot oven.)

Place on cooling rack and sprinkle (I use the sifter) powdered sugar on top.  Makes them look so cute.

IMG_6291

I put them in holiday bags for the office workers. 🙂

IMG_6293

Here’s my little baking monkey.  I wish he was baking with me, but he is at home in New Orleans, baking with his Li Li, my mom.  Man, do I miss them!!  One week til I’m home!

IMG_6299

Leave a Reply

