Santa Wreath

Yay I successfully made the cutest little wreath, if I do say so myself.

IMG_6139

I am reallllly bad at wreaths, so this is obviously super easy if I could do it.  I should have posted about my last attempt at a “fall harvest” wreath.  Saddest straw wreath you ever did see.

I used this tutorial, which was awesome.  Definitely head over there and check it out.

Things you’ll need:

  • 3 1/2 yards of white tulle from a bolt, cut into 15″ x 5″ pieces (try to be most accurate with length, so the beard looks uniform).  If you can find white tulle on a spool, just cut to 15″ pieces.
  • 12″ wreath form, preferably white
  • 1 adult sized santa hat – get one that fits on the top of your wreath form
  • Hot glue gun, scissors, pen

First, place the Santa hat on the wreath form and mark where each side ends with a pen.

IMG_6121

You’ll only be putting the tulle up to this point.  Remove hat til later.

Next, all you do is tie your 15″ strips around the wreath, from one mark to the other.  Knot the strips like so.  I double knotted them.  You’ll want the knot to be at the top side of the wreath when laying flat down for a fuller beard.  I didn’t do this correctly, but you should be able to easily adjust it at the end like I did.

IMG_6124IMG_6127

Finally, glue gun your hat on!!! Stuff the hat with leftover tulle to make it fuller.

If you want to make a mustache for the beard, check out the tutorial link.  I wanted to keep it simple as I am prone to wreath disasters.

IMG_6130

Depending on how you are hanging your wreath, add some type of hook to the back.  I followed the instructions on the tutorial and hand sewed a piece of scrap fabric to the back as a little hook.  No one will see this, so it can look like a five year old did it.

IMG_6131

I love looking at this fun Santa on my door!!

IMG_6132

Geoff likes it, too. Ho ho ho!

IMG_6140

Posted in DIY

Leave a Reply

