Spinach Bread

I am a Christmas person – not a Thanksgiving person.  I think this is evidenced by what my favorite Thanksgiving food is… garlic bread.  Growing up, I had a great-aunt who made the most delicious garlic bread.  While everyone was filling their plates with dressings and roasted meats, I was stuffing my chipmunk cheeks (the actual term I was taunted with on the scary bus to school) with at leeeeast half a loaf of garlic bread.  For some reason, that is the food memory that sticks with me from Thanksgiving, though I have grown slightly fonder of other Thanksgiving food.

No one got the recipe for that darn garlic bread I loved so much.  But in thinking of that great bread, I knew I had to make one of my fave breads for Thanksgiving this year.  Spinach bread.  It’s kinddd of like spinach madeleine, a cheesy spinach side dish made in Louisiana around holiday time, except this is on bread!  It makes two loaves, and it is great kept in the freezer.  Make sure to bake your bread covered in tin foil.  The spinach dries out a bit if baked uncovered.

This recipe is courtesy of my mother Lisa.  Besides her gumbo, her crawfish stew and spinach bread combo is what I request from her most often.

Spinach Bread

  • 2 packages frozen chopped spinach
  • 8 oz shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 8 oz shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 stick butter
  • 2 loaves of french bread, split length wise – so you will have four long pieces

Cook spinach according to directions on box over the stove (or in microwave if you want).  Drain well.   Melt butter on the stove over low-medium heat.  Once melted, add drained spinach and stir to combine.  Add cheeses and stir until melted.  Remove from heat.

IMG_6077

Spread mixture on the four long pieces of bread.

IMG_6083

If not cooking all at this point, wrap each piece in foil and put in freezer.  When ready to eat, put bread, wrapped in foil, directly in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes.

IMG_6084

Leave a Reply

