Pecan Pies!!!

I’ve been putting off trying this recipe my mom gave me for pecan pies.  She insists they are “the best” – as you can see from the recipe card.  For a wedding shower gift, my mom gave me a box of recipe cards on which she hand wrote my and her favorite recipes – best gift ever.

Image

Anyway, I finally read through the recipe.  If mom had told me how they are “the easiest” pies to make, I would have made them sooner.  This recipe comes from our Thibodaux neighbor Betsy Hymel.

Let me tell you about this recipe.  First, it makes THREE pies.  You can freeze them after baking to have on hand for company or give the extras to special friends and neighbors!  I’m making these for Thanksgiving this year.  Okay, second, this recipe ENCOURAGES a pre-made frozen pie crust.  Trust me, if my mom, the queen of homemade, insists I buy a pre-made crust, I don’t ask questions.  She even went so far as to say to buy the cheapest crust you can find.  Something about how heavy a pecan pie is – your homemade crust might not stand up to it.  Go with it.  Third, the instructions before baking pretty much consist of “stir” and “pour.”  Awesome baking words, as opposed to, say, “sift” or “double boiler.”

Ok enough chatting.

Pecan Pies (3)

  • 6 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 2 cups, 16 oz, white/light Karo syrup
  • 2 sticks melted butter
  • 2 1/4 cups pecans, or more
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 3 frozen 9″ pie crusts, thawed (not deep dish)

Image

Mix all ingredients but pecans and pour into unbaked pie shells.  Divide pecans & put evenly in pies.  Pat nuts down into liquid with hands.

Image

Bake at 325 degrees for 45 minutes.  Let cool.  Can cover with foil and freeze after baking.

Image

DELICIOUS!! Happppy turkey day!

Also, it should be socially acceptable to bring your neighbor a pie with a slice missing.

 

Leave a Reply

