No Prep Crock Pot Roast

I wanted to make another easy crock pot recipe.  Specifically, I was really craving a roast beef sandwich, so I went on a search for an easy roast in the crock pot.  I kept seeing this “three envelope” roast recipe everywhere.  Basically, you pour three packets of seasoning on the roast and that’s it.  I am pretty sure this is the best roast you can make with such little work.

Be careful with the quantity of seasoning you use – a lot of the complaints on the various sites I checked out regarded salt content.  If you follow my quantities, it should not be overly salty.  In fact, I added some finishing salt to my serving.

I just added a bag of mini carrots to my roast.  But you can also add onion and potatoes and whatever else you want.  Red wine and mushrooms for a French spin?

I served this on a toasted hoagie with a little mayo and Tabasco.  It was so good!  Leftovers were served over rice.  If you go the rice route, I suggest thickening your gravy at the end on the stovetop with a cornstarch slurry.

No Prep Crock Pot Roast

  • 3 pound boneless beef chuck roast
  • 1 (.87 ounce) packet less sodium brown gravy mix
  • 1 (.6 ounce) packet zesty italian salad dressing mix
  • 1 (1.0 ounce) packet ranch dressing mix
  • 3/4 cup of water
  • veggies: carrots, onions, potatoes, etc…

Place veggies in the bottom of the crock pot.  Mix the three packets together.  Rub on the roast and place roast in crock pot. Pour the water around the roast (don’t pour on top, which will wash off the “rub”.)  Add rest of seasoning (if you have any left) to water.  Cook on low until the roast is easily pierced by a fork, around 6-8 hours.

IMG_5933

IMG_6017

IMG_6018

Also, you can freeze leftovers!

Leave a Reply

