Almond Cake Squares

What a great football weekend!  Perfect weather, delish food, and some great Gamecock football (well, a win is a win).

IMG_5964

Just the sight of Steve Spurrier makes me laugh – in a happy, endearing way.  Not to be confused with the incredulous laugh associated with Les Miles and the “scared for the state of humanity” laugh owed Dabo Swinney.

Back to food.  I had my first chicken bog, a low country dish that reminded me a lot of simple comfort Cajun food.  It is basically just a rice and chicken dish, where the rice is cooked with the chicken (and sometimes sausage) and stock.  My kind of comfort food.  I also got to eat gator bites (they were playing Florida) and Frogmore stew, boiled shrimp, corn, potatoes, sausage, etc…   Yummy all around… but i was craving some good ole’ jambalaya and boudin links – I can’t lie.

For my part, I brought the easiest crowd-pleasing dessert – Almond Cake Squares.  My mom has made these for awhile and now it’s my go-to last minute dessert.  This recipe requires no electric mixing, softening of butter, or other things associated with long baking prep.  You pretty much stir some ingredients together, pour it in a pan, and bake it.

Aside: I do not recommend doubling the recipe.  Not sure why, but when I double this recipe, my squares come out very dense.

Almond Cake Squares

  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup melted butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. almond extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 3 Tbsp. sliced almonds for topping
  • 1 Tbsp. sugar for topping

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour a 9″ square cake pan. (You can also use a 9″ round pan and cut your cake into slices, similar to a pie. The squares are just easier to serve and eat.)

In bowl, whisk sugar and melted butter together.  Beat in eggs.  Stir in extracts.  Add salt and flour.  Mix well.

Spread batter in prepared pan.  Sprinkle almonds and sugar on top.  Bake for 30 to 35 minutes or until lightly browned.  Cool slightly.

Image

Carefully run a knife around edges to loosen and cut into squares.

IMG_5997

Geaux Gamecocks!

IMG_5998

Leave a Reply

