Balsamic and Honey Glazed Pork Chops

So I wanted to make something for dinner that was healthy but not a “low-fat recipe.”  Specifically, my body needed a break from all the starchy food I’d been eating.  Piggly Wiggly had a sale on pork chops, sooo I went from there.  As an aside, this was my first time at a Piggly Wiggly, and it was quite frightening.  Someone (presumably on drugs) kept yelling at us over the loudspeaker – not a pre-recording list of sales and whatnot, just random phrases, only some of which were actually related to  items in the store.  And I mean yelllling.  I was so nervous trying to get out of there, I felt like I was on supermarket sweeps!  I sure hope this was unique to this particular store.

Anyway, back to porkchops.  I found this recipe originally on saveur.com, entitled Sweet and Sour Glazed Pork Chops.  This recipe, so delicious and so very simple, had a misleading name – I think of “sweet and sour” as Chinese food.  The sweet aspect is the honey and the “sour” part is the balsamic.  It also has a little fresh rosemary, which brings a great flavor to the dish.  Whatever you wanna call it, it is a great healthy weekday meal.  I served mine with parmesan peas.  The husband said to “remember this recipe.”

Balsamic and Honey Glazed Pork Chops

  • 4 pork chops (bone-in would be best, as it stays more moist, but I just got the boneless kind since it was on sale)
  • Extra-virgin olive oil
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • ⅓ cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp. honey
  • 2 tbsp. unsalted butter (the original recipe called for 4 tbsp. butter, but I found that a bit excessive – if you are really skinny, go for 4 tbsp, and I hate you)
  • 1 sprig fresh rosemary, torn into 1″ pieces

Drizzle the pork chops with oil.  Season generously with salt and pepper.  Let pork sit for 30 minutes.  

Meanwhile, combine balsamic vinegar and honey in a saucepan and cook over medium heat until reduced to ¼ cup.  This took me about 10 minutes.  You’ll see that the sauce thickens a little when it’s ready.  Stir in butter and rosemary and set sauce aside.

Image

Heat a grill pan on medium-high heat.  (The original recipe wants you to grill this outside.  I would totally do this if I had a grill and wasn’t so lazy).  Add the pork chops and sear each side quickly to get that nice fake-grilledness.  Then, lower the heat to medium and baste your chops with your yummy sauce until the pork is cooked through.  The amount of time will obviously depend on the thickness of your chops and whether the chops are bone-in or not.  Mine, the cheapo kind, took only a few minutes to cook through.  A google search showed me that pork should have at least an internal temp of around 145 to 160 degrees, if you want to go that route to be sure.

The pork is now done! Make sure you’ve basted all the sauce onto your chops, and remove from heat.  Garnish with rosemary, if desired.

Image

One thought on “Balsamic and Honey Glazed Pork Chops

  1. Pingback: Sweet & Sour Pork…. | Keli Paan

Leave a Reply

