Chicken and Andouille Rice

I made a yummy Cajun dish last night.  Much to my delight, the local Publix grocery had legit andouille sausage!  Andouille is a spicy pork sausage and really makes this dish.  I wasn’t sure what to call this recipe.  It is not a jambalaya because it is not made in the traditional cast iron pot, which I unfortunately do not have.  But it tastes very similar to a jambalaya.  John Folse calls this recipe “Undefeated Red Beans, Rice and Sausage Casserole.”  That mouthful (PUNNY!) just does not sound very appealing.  Also, I don’t want to jinx the “undefeated” reference as both my teams, LSU and Saints, are currently undefeated!  Yes, I believe in jinxing, much to my husband’s annoyance.  I’m often fussing him over things he says with the reprimand, “You just JINXED us!”

Ok. Here is the recipe originally from, and adapted slightly from http://www.jfolse.com/recipes/vegetables/entree13.htm

Chicken and Andouille Rice

  • 2 pounds cubed chicken meat
  • 1 pound sliced smoked sausage or andouille
  • 1 12-ounce can cooked red kidney beans
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 cups diced onions
  • 1 cup diced celery
  • 1/2 cup diced green bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup diced red bell pepper
  • 1/4 cup chopped garlic
  • 5 cups chicken stock
  • 1 8-ounce can tomato sauce
  • 3 cups rice, raw
  • 1 cup sliced green onions
  • 1/2 cup chopped parsley
  • salt and pepper and cajun seasoning and hot sauce, to taste

In a large dutch oven, heat oil over medium high heat. Add smoked sausage until browned.  Add cubed chicken and saute until the fat has been rendered. Don’t dry it out – it will cook more after this stage.  Add onions, celery, bell pepper, and garlic. Sauté 3 to 5 minutes or until vegetables are wilted.

Image

Add chicken stock and tomato sauce. Bring mixture to a rolling boil, reduce to simmer, and cook 10 to 15 minutes for seasonings to develop.  Add cooked red beans, green onions, parsley and rice. (Mine did not include the parsley because my darling hubby bought cilantro, thinking it was parsley. Too cute)

Stir well to blend thoroughly. Season stock to taste using salt, pepper, cajun seasoning (I used a little Tony Chachere’s) and Louisiana hot sauce (I used Tabasco).

Image

Bring mixture to a rolling boil, reduce heat to low, cover and cook approximately 45 minutes stirring only once after 30 minutes of cooking time.  Keep the lid on during this time.  Make sure to check after 30 minutes! Mine was done at this point.  45 minutes would have overcooked my rice.  I also am attempting to adjust to my new gas stove, so I may have had the heat too high.  When I took off the lid at 30 mins, I saw this lovely sight:

Image

This was really good and feeds a crowd.  The original recipe said this makes 8 servings, but it’s a lot more than that, I think.  After feeding four people, I have a gallon zip lock bag filled to the brim with leftovers.  I really hope Geoff was honest in saying how much he liked this because he will be eating it every day for lunch until it’s gone.

It was really nice to make something that tasted like home.  Cajun food is just so comforting, like a big hug.

Leave a Reply

