First Paint Project!

I have been wanting to refurbish furniture for awhile now.  You would think from my Pinterest board that I am an expert in this field, but it has taken me months (years?) to actually attempt painting furniture.  And I’d say it was a success!  I bought a used dresser on Craigslist, which was quite ugly.  Here is the before and after!!

ImageImage

All of this done in under 1 day!  The big secret is Annie Sloan Chalk Paint.  Her paint is awesome (not that I have anything to compare it to).  However, it is expensive – almost $40 for a 1L pot.  However, I do have a good bit of leftover paint, even after this large dresser… and spilling a good bit.

There are so many tutorials out there, but I think they mostly make it more complicated than it is.

First, here is what you need:

  1. a dropcloth to go under the piece of furniture
  2. a basic paintbrush (I used a Purdy brush – the Annie Sloan brushes were too expensive)
  3. a wax brush (I used a 1″ square Zibra brush – you can also use a simple cloth for waxing, but the brush made waxing really easy)
  4. a sandsheet or sandblock if you want to distress the piece at the end
  5. tape for paint prepping (I can’t recommend a brand but I can advise to NOT purchase the HDX brand – it did not stick at allll)
  6. Annie Sloan Chalk Paint (the color I used was Paris Grey)
  7. Annie Sloan Clear Wax (this is also quite expensive – close to $30 – but most sites said her wax is needed for her unique paint)

To start, make sure your furniture is clean.  Just pass a damp rag over it.  Next was the most annoying step of the whole process, likely due to the poor tape I purchased.  Obviously, make sure the dropcloth is under the furniture so you don’t get paint all over your house.  You can paint inside, btw – there is no paint smell with this paint!

Image

Next, you start painting.  Yes – this awesome paint requires no priming.  When you paint, don’t think about it – just paint.  In other words, you don’t have to paint in the same direction and whatnot.  The brushstrokes will disappear – at least by the second coat.  Paint the entire furniture once, then give it a second coat.

IMG_4991

After the paint dries (maybe 30-45 minutes), wax the piece.  If you have the brush for waxing, all you do is dip it in the wax and rub it on the piece.  Again, don’t overthink it.  You’ll know if you put too much.  It’ll show and then you can just wipe off the excess.  The wax slightly darkens the piece.

IMG_4992

Next, if you don’t want to distress the piece, you are done!!  I wanted to slightly distress it.  Not only do I like the look, but then if you ding it a little, it just blends in.  To distress it, wait about an hour for the wax to dry, and then just pass a sanding block or sanding sheet over the piece.  Focus on the edges and borders of the piece and of each individual shelf.  Again, do not overthink it.  You really can’t mess it up.  If you overly distress a part, you can just repaint it.  Here is a closeup of a shelf distressed.  As you can see, I just wanted to very lightly distress it.

IMG_4996

That’s it!  If I could do this, anyone can.  I am not artsy or creative in the least bit.  This was a super fun project.  I’m ready for the next one!

One thought on “First Paint Project!

  1. Pingback: Simple Stain Project | temple adventure

Leave a Reply

