Tasty Thai

I’m quite surprised I haven’t blogged about this Thai place Geoffrey and I love in Charleston – Tasty Thai on King Street.  I had a belly full of this food the night I met Geoffrey in Charleston! Ha – belly full of Thai food does not sound sexy.  Since then, we stop in here when we want spicy noodles to share.  I know people love another Thai place on King Street, but this place is reasonably priced (especially when sharing like we do), casual, and never crowded.  Most importantly, they make things “Thai hot” (i.e. crying in your plate) for you on request.

I would love to tell you about all the different things we order here, but we are boring at this place and get what we love.  This is very rare for me and speaks to how much I crave this particular meal. :)  First, happy hour is Mon – Fri, 4pm – 8pm.   They have some $4 appetizers, $3.50 draft beer, $3 wells, and $4 sake.  From this, we always partake in the Crab Wontons and draft beer.

Image

For dinner, we share the Spicy Udon Noodles, stir fried noodles with chicken, shrimp, garlic, egg, peppers, onions, and basil.

Image

Man, I don’t know if anything is better than a good Thai noodle dish.  I normally order Pad Kee Mow at Thai places, but I stray for these Udon noodles.

Tasty Thai also has a location in Mount Pleasant I can’t vouch for, and the owners have “Taste of Thai” in West Ashley, which I’ve heard is great.

I definitely recommend this place for some delicious but greasy Thai food.  Methinks this would be the ultimate hungover meal.  If you want something a bit more innovative or a little bit nicer, but still casual, also check out CO down the street (not a Thai place but has some Thai dishes and curry dishes in addition to traditional Vietnamese food)!

Tasty Thai & Sushi on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Tasty Thai

    • Never heard of it – just googled it to see that it is closed and is now Republic, a cheesy lounge bar. I once read a review of a new place to eat, and it said, “Hurry up and go before it closes!!” Ha. I think too many new things are opening. :(

Leave a Reply

