Five Loaves Love

On one of my first visits to Charleston, my friend Whitney recommended this joint called Five Loaves.  It is one of my favorite restaurants here.  It is super cute and has great lunches and dinners.  The price is very reasonable for the quality, too.  Wednesday and Saturday feature half priced wine! Also, they opened a second location in Mount Pleasant.  Now, I have a location near my home and a location near my work.  It’s fate.

On my latest visit I ordered a half-sammy and the soup trio.  For the sandwich, I chose their daily special, which was a Southwestern Turkey Salad.  Kind of like chicken salad, but made with turkey, and lots of yummy southwestern ingredients on it – black bean, corn, cilantro.  You get to pick which bread your sammy comes on – I went with the baguette.

IMG_5376

In addition to yummy sandwiches, this place makes amazing and unique soups.  Each day, they feature around 6 or 7 of them.  Instead of having to pick one, you can pick the soup sampler, which has 3 little soup samplings for $4.25.

IMG_5375

My soups were curried vegetable with cilantro, roasted red pepper and parmesan soup, and asparagus soup with dill and goat cheese.  They were all tasty, but the asparagus one was awesome. The goat cheese made it so creamy.

Geoff got a half Ultimate BLT and the tomato tarragon and crabmeat soup.  The BLT, which Geoff got on sourdough, had smoked bacon, cheddar, basil mayo, lettuce, tomato, and onion.  It was awesome.

IMG_5374

This place has an awesome dinner menu, too.  (And they usually let you order the lunch stuff at dinner, which I appreciate.)  Some of my dinner faves are the mussels in Thai coconut and cilantro sauce and the sauteed shrimp gnocchi.   Mmmm.

This is probably my number one date night spot in Charleston.  A place with great food and a casual but nice ambiance.

 

Five Loaves Cafe on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

