Santi’s Mexican

I was really craving a margarita and some patio sittin’, so Geoff and I drove out to Santi’s in the sketchier area of downtown.  I had been here once before and kind of didn’t get what all the fuss was about.  Disclaimer: I like tex-mex more than authentic Mexican, and I pretty much just want to eat queso and quesadillas and slurp down a ‘rita.

Well, despite my normal preferences (and the lack of Santi’s to cater to that boringness), I was seriously impressed with this place.  First of all, the salsa here was so good that I didn’t even order queso!  I can’t remember the last time that happened.  It was some of the best salsa I’ve ever had.  The margarita was super good, too.  Sidenote:  I recently went to a place in West Ashley that put OJ in their margarita.  Just no.

Image

Next, Geoff got a chimichanga with steak, and I got the pork flautas.

ImageImage

Excuse the pics – I was seriously in a hurry to start eating, and the flautas were under a mound of sour cream and guac anyway (a restaurant after my heart).  The flautas were soooo awesome.  The pork in it was tender and delicious.  The chimichanga was not as delicious and not very crispy, but it did the trick.

This place rivaled some of my fave Mexican joints in Houston.  When I told Geoff that, he said, “Make sure to write that in your blog.”  Too cute.  He loves how much I’m enjoying the food here in Charleston.  I’m guessing he expected lots of comparisons to Louisiana food and general complaints.  Am I one to complain??? Don’t answer that.

Santi's Restaurante Mexicano on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

